Music Monday: Rad Horror

photo: jesse deflorio

Happy Music Monday! The past few weeks I’ve been stuck inside rental cars shuttling myself between classes, Philly and Jersey (thanks, Night Riots), but the upside to that was the amazing sound system in the cars I had. One thing I can’t stand about driving long distances in my parents’ van is the CD struggle. Even if I manage to shove a bunch of albums into the glove box it’s pretty much impossible to switch them out while behind the wheel. On top of that I don’t have access to a physical copy of every album ever made, which doesn’t really work with my attention span. I’m a big fan of Apple Music and the shuffle button.

Luckily the new age wave of rentals come with a USB hookup for the stereo, and I was able to flip between singing along to U2’s “Sunday Bloody Sunday” and blasting Harry Styles’ latest release. However none of that really compared to jamming out to Rad Horror’s debut album Before You Got Too Cool while driving up the Garden State Parkway.  The North Jersey natives released their first full length last December and are currently stationed out West playing shows in a LA residency-type format.

My current favorite song on the album is “I’m a Loser;” the opening track portrays a heartbreaking sense of worthlessness in a way that makes the listener really feel the emotion behind the lyrics. “Am I real or am I dead? Or am I at my bitter end?” the song asks, while backed by instrumentals that are surprisingly upbeat. Despite the message of slight self degradation the song turns into an anthem of sorts by the end, which is what really drew me to it. While many equate being called a loser with failure, Rad Horror embraces the title and has created a piece that is both relatable and profound.

“Queen of Hearts,” and “I Don’t Wanna be Your Boyfriend” are two of the album’s other standout tracks for me, but be sure to check out the full set of songs for yourself over on iTunes or Spotify. You can find the band on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook to keep up with tour dates and future releases.

Leave a Reply

